life

Happy Birthday!

Today is my 17th birthday.

I am surrounded by family as we are in North Carolina visiting my cousins and uncles for one of my cousin’s wedding.

Usually for my birthday I am at home. I might go to the pool, eat some pancakes or go shopping but unlike this year I have not been surrounded by this many family members. And this year I have hope that it will be the best birthday yet.

Here’s why:

  • I am 17: I am one year closer to 18 and I can now legally watch R rated movies
  • Family makes me happy and being around them on my birthday is even better
  • Although I am not around my friends from home right now I am still able to be in touch with them (thank you cell phones and the internet)
  • I am in North Carolina and it is beautiful!

Birthdays have always been a big deal to me. Someone’s birthday is the day that represents them getting older. You have one day a year to celebrate that person. I have always loved wishing people happy birthday and buying them the perfect gift for their big day. Although my favorite thing to do as a kid was to make birthday cards. I loved getting out the construction paper and writing a heartfelt note to my closest friends, and I loved receiving them even more.


The Birthday Tag

This year for my birthday I decided to do the birthday tag because the next time I would be able to do this tag would be in a year. So why not just go ahead and do it!

When is your birthday? 

July 24th

How old are you turning? (Or if your birthday recently passed, how old did you turn?)

17!

What was your favorite present that you’ve ever received?

This is hard to decide but I would have to say my North Face Surge 2 backpack that my sister gave me when I turned 13. I have always loved backpacks and this was my first bag that I didn’t want to get rid of after a year. And yes I am that weirdo who thinks their backpack is the coolest thing they’ve received.

Are you/did you have a party this year? If so what are you doing?

I normally do not have a party and this year is no different. However I am celebrating with family.

How do you usually celebrate your birthday?

I usually end up going to the pool that is close to my house or going shopping. Both things that I love doing. We also usually go out for dinner.

What was the most memorable birthday that you had?

My 16th birthday. I just returned from London the day before and I was pumped to get my license.

If you had an unlimited amount of money what would you do for your birthday?

I would travel to Italy or Paris with my family and best friend. I would stop in Paris to try Macaroons (I told myself I wouldn’t try them until I went to Paris) and then go to Italy and get Pasta! Plus I might by myself a little birthday present.

What’s your birthday wish list?

This year I didn’t really have a wish list because I really didn’t need anything. But I did have 2 things on my list: a new pair of leggings and a new pair of tennis shoes.

If you only had one birthday left, what would you do for your birthday?

I would go to Europe and have a huge celebration with friends and family and eat an entire cake (what can I say I’m a sucker for marble cake)

Do you have any birthday traditions? 

Just going out to dinner I guess.

What’s your favorite part about your birthday?

I love feeling the love that you are given on your birthday.

What’s one thing that changed a lot since your last birthday?

I feel like I have become more confident over the past year and I definitely have matured since my last birthday. I also am not terrified to drive on the highway.

Have you ever been thrown a surprise party or have you ever thrown one for someone?

Yes!! My friend’s mom helped organize a surprise 16th birthday party for my friend and I got to be apart of it. It was so much fun and she had no idea it was coming. Such a fun night!

I hope you enjoyed this birthday post!

Until my next post, have an amazing day!

-Arden

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

